Planning the trip back to Japan

It took more than three years, but I finally booked tickets again to Japan! Woohoo!!!Bring out the biiru!

Tickets were on sale and as luck (namely a friend who told me to go online) would have it, I got to book two! For this trip, my husband and I are flying to Kansai International Airport instead of Narita and we’re making Osaka as our base instead of Tokyo.

We plan to stay in the Kansai area as we didn’t get to see much of it the first time we went (save for Kyoto) and more importantly so we can keep expenses to a minimum (the shinkansen fare or even the JR Pass can drain the budget).

It’s still more than four months away but this hasn’t stopped me from starting to plan an itinerary around Osaka, Nara, Kyoto (how can one not stop there again?!) and maybe even Kobe. This time, I have learned my lesson and won’t be planning a marathon of sights and activities. But I am looking forward to doing these:

Stare some more...

Exploring (and staring at) a few more temples and shrines

Running after geishas then realizing they're just tourists playing dress up

Running after geisha…Β  then realizing they’re just tourists playing dress up

slouchingsomewhere_sneakup

Sneaking up on folks selling bento at the train stations

Finally having some takoyaki from Osaka instead of the dodgy guy in the van

Finally having some good takoyaki from Osaka instead of the dodgy ones we had from the guy in the van

Going back to Nishiki Market and having those tonyu doughnuts

Going back to Nishiki Market and having the warm pillowy goodness of soy doughnuts

Oh and let's not forget the sushi

Oh and let’s not forget the sushi

If you have suggestions or recommendations on where to go or what to try when we’re there, please let me know! Kampai!

14 thoughts on “Planning the trip back to Japan

      • Yes. Taiwan post soon. I just need to edit the pics. Ang saya ng Taipei!! Hmmm… Hard to compare the two. They’ve different qualities.

        As for Japan next year, tempting! But I have a plan to go up Mt Kinabalu next year eh, hahaha! (ambisyosa!!)

  1. Mt. Kinabalu? Go! It’s my dream to climb it too but I think I’ll start with a couple of mountains here first. Although my sister climbed Kinabalu without any prior mountaineering experience (unless you count mountaineering PE class back in UP, haha! She just did a lot of spinning and yoga I think to prepare for it)

  2. Yay!! Wow. Oh, to be able to return to Japan!

    Make sure you get a multiple-entry visa. πŸ™‚ Would be handy for your visit to Sapporo and Furano in 2015. πŸ˜›

  3. Great minds and all that. πŸ˜› πŸ˜‰ Such a mystical thing, a travel bucket list. It seems the more you tick off, the longer it is. Been toying with the idea of going back to Japan myself. I invariably end up elsewhere. πŸ˜‰

Say hello!

