Yes, still dreaming of Japan

A few days ago, a friend sent me this link of a video that shows three minutes of glorious eating and traveling in Japan. It was by The Perennial Plate, this engaging blog by a chef and activist on responsible eating, which is actually more interesting than it sounds.

The first episode, “From Japan with Love (and Dashi)”, got me dreaming (for the nth time) of returning to Japan. So I actually went online to look for tickets. The airline prices certainly slapped me back to reality. So I did the next best thing, at least while I was stuck in front of my computer trying to write but getting distracted as always, look at Perennial Plate’s other amazing videos on his visit to Japan. Watch them when you have the time.

From Japan with Love (and Dashi) from The Perennial Plate on Vimeo.

The two other videos below follow more of a narrative about a farmer who grows wheat and has been making udon noodles for the last 45 years and about a fishery (the only one in the world) that spawns Bluefin tuna, which isn’t a very sustainable fish but at least in my opinion still better compared to killing the ones in the wild. (I suddenly miss writing about farmers and farms here in the country.)

For Udon and Country from The Perennial Plate on Vimeo.

The Farmer and The Bluefin from The Perennial Plate on Vimeo.

And around the same time, the blog Tr4velgeek, started following me and thank goodness because I discovered her travel blog as well and particularly loved her post when she stayed the night in a Buddhist temple in Koyasan: serene surroundings of a shukubo (temple lodging), taking a dip in an onsen, and enjoying a shojin-ryori (vegetarian monk’s cuisine) for dinner. I think it’s somewhere I can take my vegetarian and yoga-and-meditation practicing sister to if ever we both travel to Japan. And it’s also going on my long list of what-t0-do-in-Japan-that-I-didn’t-get-to-do-the-last-time. Checked the tickets again, still expensive.

In the meantime, Hong Kong is just a couple of weeks away. All this pining for Japan made me overlook the fact that I haven’t fixed an itinerary just yet for a trip that’s actually happening. If you have some suggestions for a Hong Kong travel virgin, please let me know. Videos or posts for inspiration are also welcome. 🙂

6 thoughts on “Yes, still dreaming of Japan

  1. The most rewarding decisions I have made in my life, invariably, have had to do with impulse and whimsy and scissoring through the safety net of the familiar.

    What you yield to claim courage directs the odds closer to your favor. 🙂 We are only ever wistful about what we didn’t do because we know we surrendered so many possibilities.

    • Hi Mariella, it’s always nice to read your take on things. You are a wise woman 🙂 I know I’ll read this comment of yours and my previous post on being more courageous whenever I find myself afraid or uncertain to take a risk. Thank you 🙂

      • The comment was meant for the last post, ha ha. 😳

        Japan was quite an experience; a return is not an option so much as a certainty. 😀 We must save up.

        Having said that, I gather that your “Japan” is my “Amsterdam”. It never fails, I think to be away, and wish I were there. 🙂

  2. Ah, From Japan with Love (and Dashi) was so cool. It makes me want to travel to the country right now. As for your trip to Hong Kong, you need to cosplay as Brigitte Lin in Chungking Express!

Say hello!

