From La Boqueria, with love (and jamon and Manchego cheese)

After attending a work-related conference in Barcelona, Spain, my husband is finally back home. It’s really good to have him back, and it doesn’t have anything to do with the fact that he came back with loads of pretty pictures, lovely postcards for my collection, and mouthwatering Spanish goodies from La Boqueria market. Okay, maybe a little.

I’ve never been to Barcelona and I wish I could have gone with him, but his photos of almost every corner of the beautiful city made me feel just a wee bit (as cheesy as it sounds) like I was there. (And a wee bit jealous too.) I would have loved to see Gaudi’s Sagrada Familia, Casa Batllo, and La Pedrera, the neighborhoods and districts such as Barri Gotic and Eixample, and the marketplaces. Oh, the marketplaces. One of the best places to see the appetite of a city.

A day before heading home, P passed by La Boqueria, a public market in tourist hot spot La Rambla, to buy some salty slices of jamon and manchego cheese. I would have loved to see this colorful and bustling marketplace, which dates back to 1217. But for now these photos and his gift of ham and cheese are my little pieces of Barcelona. Thanks, P!

Find an entrance of Mercat de Sant Josep de la Boqueria from La Rambla

Start your food gawking adventure

Beautiful red chili peppers. The dishes my Bicolana mom could do with them. Hee.

Too bad P didn't have much of a sweet tooth. The candied fruits could have been heaven...

...or the chocolates

But the meat section is his marketplace nirvana

Hello, slabs of ham (Is it me or is the lighting a bit too dramatic?)

Lovely husband brought home Manchego and a few other types of cheeses

I think he would have happily traded places with this man.

Made P crave for the cheap and tasty chicharon back here in the Philippines.

10 thoughts on “From La Boqueria, with love (and jamon and Manchego cheese)

  1. ahhhh! slobber slobber over the meat and cheese! Someday when enough pennies have been pinched I shall go myself…

  2. Pingback: For the love of itineraries « slouching somewhere

Say hello!

