Crazy over bok choy

Bok choy. Just the name makes you want to chomp on it. More known as Chinese cabbage, I didn’t use to pay so much attention to this green leafy veggie until I had to cook something that called for it a few months back. I was going to cook a Ginger Fish Stir-Fry (see recipe, below), which called for bok choy. Since all I had was pechay (another cabbage variety) in the fridge, I ended up using that instead. The next time I cooked the stir-fry dish, my mom brought me bok choy from the market. A bunch just looked so lovely and green. When I used it for the dish, it came out more tender than pechay.

A bok choy bouquet

Since my wonderful mom bought bok choy in the market this morning, I decided to cook the Ginger Fish Stir-Fry again today for lunch. I may have gone a bit crazy over the amount of bok choy that was called for in the recipe, added more soy sauce, and it came out a little more salty than before.

Just a bit too much bok choy?

It was still a yummy, tasty dish. But I’ll stick to the recipe for a more balanced-tasting dish with a lot of heat. I’ve been reading up on bok choy and it actually goes well with ginger and chilies, which were both included in the dish. It’s also supposedly very versatile–you can boil it, steam it, stir-fry it, or deep fry (still wrapping my brain around that one). If you’ve done other tasty dishes with bok choy, do let me know.

Yummy Ginger Fish Stir-Fry (still need a lot of help in the food photography and styling department though)

Ginger Fish Stir-Fry (recipe from Yummy magazine, July 2010)

2 tablespoons cornstrach
1/2 teaspoon salt
500 grams boneless, skinless white fish fillets, cubed
2 tablespoons oil
1 2-inch piece of fresh ginger, peeled and sliced thinly
1 finger chili
1/2 bunch bok choy, leaves separated
50 grams spinach leaves
1 tablespoon finely chopped lemongrass (I tried it with and without lemongrass and I have to say I like the one without better. But the one with lemongrass cuts the saltiness and spiciness of the dish nicely.)
1 tablespoon soy sauce
1 teaspoon fish sauce
1 teaspoon brown sugar
shredded spring onion for garnish

1 Place cornstarch in a medium bowl and mix in salt. Add fish, tossing to coat. Shake off excess.
2 Heat half the oil in a wok or large frying pan on high. Stir-fry ginger and chili for 1 to 2 minutes. Transfer to a small bowl.
3 Heat remaining oil in the same wok and stir-fry fish for 4 to 5 minutes. Add ginger mixture, bok choy and spinach. Stir-fry for two minutes until bok choy wilts.
4 In a bowl, combine lemongrass, sauces and sugar. Add to fish mixture and stir-fry for 1 to 2 minutes, until bubbling. Top with shredded spring onions. Eat with lots of hot rice! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Crazy over bok choy

Say hello!

