Mangoes are in season!

Golden season

One of the many things I love about summer is that it’s harvest time for mangoes. Ever since I was a kid, I have always looked forward to ‘mango season.’ This meant an abundance of mangoes in the marketplace and baskets of mangoes on our dining table. I usually eat them as is, just slice off both fleshy cheeks leaving the big seed in the middle, scoop out the sweet, yellow flesh with a spoon, open mouth… burst of joy!

Sometimes I would eat the slices of mangoes with hot rice for lunch or dinner and I would be a happy camper. (Of course, when I was growing up most of my friends thought this was weird, so I thought my family was odd since we all did it. Then I read an interview of the late River Phoenix, whom my sister and I absolutely adored back then, where he mentioned that when he was a kid in South America he used to eat mangoes and rice all the time. That made me feel better.) There was also a time when a good college friend and her mom gave my family a big basket of sweet, ripe mangoes from Zambales. It was one of the best pasalubong ever received. I think my mom and I finished five in one sitting.

With plenty of mangoes in the house, sometimes they overripe before we even have a chance to eat them. (With age and diabetes running in the family, I can only eat one or two a day; mangoes are high in sugar!) Once when this happened, I decided to make a dessert for the family. I got a recipe for Peach Mango Crepe by Sharlene Tan from the ever-reliable Yummy magazine (shameless plug, I know). I didn’t have peaches then, but I had a lot of mangoes so technically it was only Mango Crepe. It was a no-bake dessert, which worked for me because I had no oven. I made it again this Sunday.

I love making crepes. They’re like a blanket of softness and butter. If you have nutella, you can spread nutella on the crepe before arranging the mangoes and peaches on it. Fold and arrange on a dish.

Spread whipped cream on top and chocolate syrup. Instead of chocolate syrup though, I simply grated some leftover dark chocolate bar on top. Chill in the fridge and serve cold. (Indulging in this dessert makes me glad I ran this morning.)


Peach Mango Crepe
Serves 6 to 8 Prep Time 20 minutes Cooking Time 25 minutes

1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
3 tablespoons sugar
4 eggs
1 cup milk
1 cup water
1/3 cup butter, melted
additional melted butter for cooking crepes
2 mangoes, sliced
1 can peach halves, drained and sliced
whipped cream and chocolate syrup for topping

1 Put flour and sugar in a mixing bowl.

2 In another bowl, mix together eggs, milk, water, and 1/3 cup melted butter. Pour this liquid mixture into the flour-sugar bowl, and whisk until well-incorporated, removing any lumps. Pour through a strainer to remove lumps. Set aside for 5 minutes.

3 Heat a crepe pan and brush with melted butter (Or you can just use a regular non-stick pan and you don’t even have to brush it with butter). Using a 1/4 or 1/3 cup measuring cup (depending on the size of your crepe pan), pour crepe mixture into the pan and rotate pan to distribute the mixture evenly. When bubbles appear, flip crepes to cook the other side. (I have to admit that I no longer flipped them. They got quite thin anyway.)

4 Transfer to a plate and place a strip of wax paper on top. Repeat with the remaining mixture, stacking the crepes in between strips of wax paper for easy removal later on.

5 When crepes cool, place one crepe on a plate. Arrange some sliced mangoes and peaches on the bottom third of the crepe and roll, folding sides inward.

6 Arrange crepes on the bottom of a glass dish. Top with whipped cream and drizzle chocolate syrup on top. Place in the chiller and serve very cold.

2 thoughts on “Mangoes are in season!

Say hello!

