Never to skip breakfast

I never like to skip breakfast. When we were kids, my mom always insisted that my siblings and I eat our breakfast even when we were rushing to school. Fried fish and rice. Tocino (sweetened, cured pork) and rice. Daing (dried, salted fish) and rice. Corned beef and rice. Homemade longganisa (local pork sausage) and rice. My mom was big believer of a heavy breakfast. Kailangan may kanin. (There has to be rice.) I wasn’t a big fan of it when I was in elementary school. All I wanted was a bowl of cereal or a taste of a peanut-butter-and-banana sandwich like what the kids in Sesame Street were having. But by the time I reached college, those big Filipino breakfasts had won me over. (Either a consequence of living away from home for awhile or fuel to write those Philosophy papers by junior and senior years, I suspect.)

When I lived away from home and couldn’t make the time to cook rice in the morning, I would at least have time to cook some bacon (how can you not have time for bacon?) and toast some bread. Or I would stop by the small donut shop in front of the university and have a BLT and tea. When I started working, I was amazed at people who only had coffee in the morning and would eat their first meal by lunchtime. I knew my tummy wouldn’t let me hear the end of it–all the grumbling–if I did the same thing.

Whenever I travel, I also make sure I never skip the first meal of the day. On the recent trip to Cebu, I have to admit that I looked forward to seeing the beaches of Bantayan as much as having dangsilog (fried danggit + sinangag or fried rice + itlog or egg) for breakfast where danggit or dried, salted rabbitfish is a local favorite. Below are two danggit breakfast sets from D’Jungle and Blue Ice Bar & Restaurant, located just next to each other in Santa Fe in Bantayan Island:

D’Jungle danggit breakfast: I ordered it with their vegetable rice and it’s also served with two eggs, coffee or tea and juice. Around PHP165. I love the veggie rice and the fact that the danggit pieces are really small.

Blue Ice Bar & Restaurant didn’t have a danggit breakfast set, because all their Filipino breakfast sets had a heaping of danggit served with it! Served also with a smaller cup of rice, one egg, tiny salad on the side, and coffee or tea. Around PHP125. More danggit and cheaper too!

Want a break from dried, salted fish breakfast? How about cured goodness of bacon? Here’s another breakfast set from Blue Ice Bar & Restaurant.

Another Filipino breakfast favorite is the beef tapa (cured beef). In Don Merto’s Restaurant in Cebu City, their version of beef tapa is cured and dried and when fried, almost has the same texture as crispy bacon. Just as tasty too.

Don Merto’s tapsilog (tapa or cured beef, garlic rice and egg)

Since I’m finishing a lot of writing for work this month, I think I’ll just be posting favorite breakfast photos in the next few days. Maybe some of the local rice cakes like bibingka and puto bumbong, popular early morning fare around this time of the year?

10 thoughts on “Never to skip breakfast

  1. I love your breakfast posts. Sometimes I just want to start a blog on breakfast. Yay to mom, who made sure we never skip it. Now it’s my favorite meal of the day, and I skip only when there’s a hop and a jump involved, preferably to an all-day breakfast place. Pancake House, say it isn’t so. There’s nothing like lingering over my coffee and orange juice (helloow, double dose of acid) and my toast and butter and jam and scrambled eggs and fruits and my yogurt. Maybe that’s why I don’t mind sleeping over at other people’s homes to the point that the owners call the guest room Mabi’s room, or that I leave a toothbrush there or raid the cabinet for “my” towel. Nothing like having breakfast with a good friend. Breakfast at Margie’s always delicious and healthy, with a few vitamins at the end of the meal. Double espresso and a cappuccino can’t be beat at the Bulaongs, whether in Frankfurt or Fairview. And waking up to SMS from Tara, “Walking home from simbang gabi–want breakfast?” The lady whose work I am editing now told me that when she made a list of the qualities she wanted in man, right there was “He should love having long, leisurely breakfasts.” Right there, I thought, “Genius!” Also, “Working Class? Please don’t apply.” Teehee. Seriously, work was made more bearable by the prospect of my long and leisurely breakfasts, book and journal in tow, whether at McDonald’s on Paseo near AIM during my advertising years, Dulcinea on Morato during my Adarna years, Chocolate Kiss when I was with UP Press, and also at Starbucks 6750 and Makati Stock Exchange during my Ayala years. So what if it meant leaving the house at six in the morning just to get to Makati before the rush hour. Breakfast was my piece of quiet. Also, nothing like seeing the city wake up and build up to the bustle that, admittedly, still energizes me. Maybe that’s why the sight of call center kids downing their beer, bloated and defeated at 630 a.m., when I am on my way to yoga, depresses. I want to tell them, Hoooy, anubei, pang-beach lang ang morning beer!!! 😉

  2. Thanks! Yay to mom talaga for making sure we didn’t skip breakfast. And I love how you describe your long, leisurely breakfasts before going to work (yah, that’s one of the few perks of working fulltime–treating yourself to breakfast outside) and seeing the city wake up. Wonderful 🙂 At tama ka uli, morning beer is only not depressing when you’re out on the beach 😛

  3. Pingback: Kyoto to Tokyo, Day 8: A few days before going home | Slouching somewhere

  4. Pingback: One day in Bantayan Island | Slouching somewhere

  5. Pingback: Getting nostalgic over inihaw na liempo (grilled pork belly) « slouching somewhere

  6. Pingback: A Breakfast, a Toast | schleppinginthecity

Say hello!

